Transitions and Adaptations: Discovering What Works

Despite having faced a decent number of them, I still view transitions as a challenge. Fortunately, though, I am generally up for the task of adapting. Because I will be graduating this spring from American University when I complete my internship with Bravo Group, I have been contemplating the next significant transition to come.

Upon finishing my undergraduate studies, I expect the type of work that I do to make up a great deal of this change. As a liberal arts student I often wrote in an academic style, whereas my work here has involved mostly short, concise writing. Luckily, I got experience with this style from some of the communications courses that I took for my degree.

Following my transition from high school to college, I found selecting the “right” major to be difficult. After transferring and jumping around a few different areas of study, I settled on a major at American that is often joked around on campus as being a four-year undecided program. All jokes aside, I found CLEG, which focuses on communications, legal institutions, economics and government, to be adequate preparation for this upcoming transition.

One thing that I find interesting to hear people say is that their undergraduate degree has little or nothing to do with their job and that you really don’t know until you’re in the field. That’s where I feel Bravo and my previous internships are especially helpful. Just as CLEG helped me discover interests, strengths and weaknesses, my time here is helping me to test what I’ve learned and put it into practice.

I had a fair number of adjunct professors in my last two years who focused on preparing us for what we will have to do in our jobs and structured their classes that way. These professors, who often work in the area and teach a class or two, helped me with how to prepare for the working world and understanding expectations. Because they came from different sectors, including government, business and communications, this gave me a variety of tools to take with me from college.

At points I worried about the lack of specialization that comes with my degree, but what it lacks in that department it offers in versatility. This has proven to be beneficial to me for my Bravo internship because it’s such a complex firm. As the only intern at the Pittsburgh office, I’ve found myself in a new position but am eager to take on whatever is to come and contribute in as many ways as I can to our team.

Tory Santucci, Pittsburgh PR/Communications Intern

Bravo Group

Image credit: The Pagan Experience

 

Leave a Reply

