A New Milestone

Sometimes the milestones we hit in life are not always clear. It’s hard to pinpoint the time when we go from angsty teen to cynical adult or when we go from hating spinach to suddenly craving it in smoothies. Other times, the milestones we reach are clear and make us proud. Like graduating from high school and then college, or getting your first real job. While the road might be bumpy in between, the achievement and satisfaction are the same.

Throughout my life I have always had trouble pinpointing what I wanted to do when I grow up. I went from wanting to be a veterinarian (but then quickly discovering my squeamishness for blood and bodily fluids), to an artist (at the displeasure of my parents), then to drawing a blank.

When I entered college, I wasn’t even sure what I wanted to declare as a major. I knew I liked to write, so I figured being an English major was my best bet. But after sound advice from my sister, I decided instead to go into communications.

For me, communications was the best of both worlds. I would be able to pursue my love for writing and English, and I would have more diverse job prospects.

As an undergrad, I learned many skills through academic work and internships. Whether it was at a radio station in Philadelphia, at a magazine publication in South Africa or in customer service in Camden, New Jersey, I gained valuable career experience in all fields of communication.

Not only did I take away new skills, such as editing, videography, communication, and writing,  but I discovered new passions. When I had the opportunity to travel abroad, I finally learned what I wanted to do in life, which was to work in advocacy and nonprofits. This came to a standstill upon graduation. It was harder to get involved in community work and find a career when the comfy cushions of college were no longer supporting me.

But I found a silver lining when I met with Bravo Group at the Saint Joseph’s University career fair. I was excited to learn more about the firm and what it does. What stuck out to me were its holistic campaign approach to advocacy projects and its dedication to win tough fights.

I knew from then on that I wanted to be a part of this internship. I am eager to learn from everyone here at Bravo, and I am happy to see how open and welcoming the community is here. I’m looking forward to this new milestone in my life, and I hope to learn and gain everything that I can from this internship.

 

Ayana Tabourn, Wayne PR/Communications Intern

Image Credit: Shutterstock

Leave a Reply

