Braving the World at Bravo

You do not often hear the word “bravery” tossed around millennials my age, but it is a word that I desperately cling to as I wade through this challenging chaos called life.

To become an international student at Messiah College, I packed bravery in my bags, leaving the loud city of Lagos, Nigeria, and flew 18 hours into the quiet town of Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania. I left sunshine’s constant embrace in Africa for a country that freezes me in winter, for people I did not know why they liked cheese so much, and for a bigger world.

Growing up, all I knew was that I liked to read and write. I would read every book I could get my hands on, and I would write the quirkiest stories.

My literacy is something I have never taken for granted, and I have always been grateful for the privilege. I love reading and writing because it stretches my mind to corners I never knew existed.

I love the world of communications because it offers me a wonderful opportunity to feed my appetite for learning and widening my perspective, with all its diverse fields and people.

A famous quote says that the more you know, the more you realize just how much you do not know, and that has been the motivating factor that drives me in life.

Through this, I have pushed myself to find bravery and gain experience in the worlds of radio, magazines, entertainment, design, social media, communications and fundraising. In all these fields, I have gotten the opportunity to learn from many amazing professionals in communications.

As an international student, I had to dig for bravery to cross oceans to get a valuable education in the USA. I made a promise to myself to always seek courage, even in the face of fear, putting myself out there in the world to learn new things, meet new people and grow as a person.

I am thankful for this opportunity to intern at Bravo, and as I brave every day, I cannot wait to learn, grow, share and repeat.

 
Shekinah Olagunju, Harrisburg Communications/PR Intern 

Image Credit: Shutterstock

Leave a Reply

