Hope for the best, prepare for the worst

You can collect facts until your brain is about to explode with all the information you have stuffed inside of it. But unless you know how to use it, what is it all for? Employers need people who can think for themselves and handle the unknown.

In college, you’re given a syllabus at the beginning of the semester. If you have exceptional professors, they include their course objectives in this document. These are the goals they intend to accomplish and the skills you should walk away with if you put effort into the assignments, actively attend class and engage your fellow pupils. However detailed these course objectives are, they cannot tell you exactly when you are going to need these skills.

I applied virtually all of these skills to my work in the past few months while interning at Bravo Group. Two of my main objectives were to develop a well-rounded writing portfolio and gain familiarity with problem-solving in a crisis situation.

I had ample opportunity to take on projects from all over the spectrum. One worth highlighting took place unexpectedly. In the blink of an eye, everyone cleared their schedules and took action according to the crisis communications plan. All of our senses were on high alert as we prepared for the worst but hoped for the best.

Even so, nothing was left to chance. We carefully scheduled a media coverage monitoring plan and thoroughly checked off every box on the list, adding extra precautions when necessary. I observed as the team attacked a seemingly insurmountable problem with a clear strategy and professionalism. Even more, I was part of the solution. I can now use this approach when problems arise in any unexpected situation throughout my daily life.

At Bravo Group, I practiced disciplining myself to take information in with a critical and discerning eye. It is not a simple feat to always be aware of your own perspectives and influences from your environment, including your potential biases. My experience was only enriched when I encountered opposing viewpoints. These differences make our collaborative work better.

Since graduating and entering the working world, I have realized what a luxury it was to have the time to study, read and engage in thought-provoking discussions in college. I no longer take it for granted. Furthermore, I am learning to apply the knowledge and theories that I was exposed to in my formal education to real-life situations. Thank you, Bravo Group, and farewell.

Giovanna Ortiz, Harrisburg Writing Intern

Image: Shutterstock

Leave a Reply

