Work Hard, Play Hard

By working hard in college, I got to where I am today. I am a recent graduate of Villanova University and an intern for Bravo Group.

As I started college, I knew I had a lot of hard work ahead of me but I also wanted to have fun.

Everyone always tries to prepare you for college, but you never know what they are talking about until you experience it for yourself. Especially with the all-you-can-eat dining halls, the freshman 15 can sneak up on you fast.

My first year at Villanova, I did not have a declared major. I had no idea what I wanted to do. After taking every core class the school could offer, I found one area I was interested in and wanted to pursue. I finally declared my major of public relations at the end of my sophomore year.

Public relations stuck out to me because it encompassed my interests of social media, planning  and media relations. PR courses provided me with the experience I needed to land internships such as this one.

Aside from my academics, I was a student worker in the Villanova Dining Services office, I was on the cheerleading team and I joined a sorority. I had a lot on my plate, but I was excited. I continued with these programs throughout college and got even more involved in my sorority’s philanthropies, as well as landing an internship my junior year.

I was an intern for a scholarship foundation that provided aid for students at Villanova. I worked on increasing student awareness through social media as well as assisting with fundraising events.

Being involved in these groups made it hard to manage my time, especially as a full-time student, but in the end it was a way to socialize and meet new people on a campus where I didn’t know anyone.

But I didn’t get here without playing hard, too.

Throughout my college career, I cheered at football games for Villanova, including at games in the Philadelphia Eagles’ stadium and the Atlanta Falcons’ stadium. I studied for a summer in Rome. I have traveled many places, but nothing compares to being in Houston for the NCAA basketball tournament, watching my last game as a student and seeing my team win the national championship.

College is far from a breeze, but it is a time to have fun and to discover who you are. College has shaped me into the person I am today.

I am excited for what lies in my future, and I know that with keeping the mentality of “Work Hard, Play Hard” I will continue to find a happy medium between the two in my life.

Noelle Del Grippo, Wayne Office

Leave a Reply

