I’ll Leave You with a Quote

The office at Bravo Pittsburgh can be summed up in one word: personality. Several times throughout my internship, the staff has joked that we should have a quote board to showcase the insightful and downright hilarious comments people make. These quotes have made me feel welcome and part of the team. Knowing that every one of my co-workers is comfortable with my presence and wants to make me feel at home has allowed me to work toward my potential.  
Anne, Kate, Matt, Adam, Rami and Kelley have made my time here not only worthwhile because of the career preparation I have received but for the fun I know I will have each day. My ability to show my own personality while engaging with others and completing my work is something I appreciate now and will expect in any of my future workplaces.  
I believe working in this flexible environment with so many personable people has allowed me to get the most out of my time here. I felt uninhibited, within reason of course, to ask whatever questions came to mind, share my opinion, speak up when I did not understand and express the passion I felt for an idea or project.  
Career preparation and development is only half of the reason to pursue an internship. Knowing how to satisfactorily complete your job is just as important as knowing how to be a person in a professional setting. From each of my co-workers, I learned not only how they excel at their niche and how I can improve my own skills but how they maintain and express the core of who they are in their work.  
Anne exposed me to the world of digital and Kate to advocacy, but at the same time they served as the girls I could go talk to in the office when I needed a breather from my work. Because of them, I feel empowered to be a young female in this industry.
Matt and Adam helped me to understand the energy industry, but they also offered comic relief in the middle of a long day. Rami sparked my interest in our research practice, and he was a friendly face and a sounding board for my ideas. Finally, Kelley enabled me to see the difference between media relations in  my college classrooms and its presence in the real world. And she always made sure I was feeling confident and appreciated for the work I was doing.
My internship at Bravo Group has by far been the best job I have ever had. I always felt that my work was valued, my presence wanted and my own personality welcome. Although I am excited to return to the University of Pittsburgh for my senior year, I am saddened by the fact that my short time here has come to a close. Because of Bravo, I know what I want out of a career. My future employer, whoever it might be, certainly has big shoes to fill.  
To my friends at Bravo Pittsburgh, I will be forever thankful for your patience, guidance, feedback, energy and inspiration.
“How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.” — Unknown
Gwen Poillucci, Pittsburgh

 

Leave a Reply

