Marketing in the Age of Social Media

A few months ago, my father handed me a copy of the March edition of the Harvard Business Review and said, “I think you should read this.” The issue was titled “Marketing in the Age of Social Media,” and the cover featured neon pink text and emojis of all styles. Intrigued by the title and the aesthetically pleasing cover, I decided to take a look.

This edition of HBR was, as the title suggested, centered on the idea of marketing and other business techniques and how they have evolved with the digital age. It featured articles with titles such as, “Reigniting Growth,” “How to Build a Culture of Originality” and even “Should He be Fired for that Facebook Post.” The overwhelming theme of these articles dealt with how businesses have had to develop and innovate to solve challenges that have emerged with the increased use of technology and social media.

As a 21-year-old college student, the digital age is something I have grown up with and am accustomed to. The concept of “Marketing in the Age of Social Media” seems almost redundant to me, because I can’t imagine marketing any other way. Social media has become an integral part of society, to the point that no moment goes undocumented. Therefore, for a business, a social media presence is crucial to gaining recognition and staying relevant with its consumers. While this seems obvious to me, someone who is constantly refreshing my Instagram and Twitter feeds, I understand that it has not always been this way.

What I enjoyed about reading these articles was not necessarily what companies are doing but how businesses have learned to adapt to the ever-changing world of technology and innovation. The digital age seems natural to me now, but in the future things likely will be much different. For all I know, in a few years HBR might publish a cover story titled “Marketing in the Age of the Robot Takeover” and we will all adapt to that new way of functioning, but I digress.

During my time at Bravo Group, I have witnessed the innovation and transformation required to keep a business up to speed with its consumers. As a public advocacy firm, we are required to be on the forefront of new technologies and ways of communication to ensure that our clients are receiving the best coverage and reaching the most people. We know how to adapt, innovate and evolve to do what we do best, win tough fights.

 

Kate Foley | Philadelphia Office 

Photo: Shutterstock 

Leave a Reply

