Creating a Healthier Pennsylvania

No one wants to go to the hospital. Not even the hospital wants you to go to the hospital. The only thing hospitals want more than to help make you healthy once you’re admitted is to prevent the hospital visit in the first place.

The Hospital & Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania is an organization of hospitals and health care systems across the state dedicated to being a leading voice for the health and well-being of Pennsylvanians.

As part of its initiative to make Pennsylvanians healthy, HAP recently launched Healthy Me PA. The goal of Healthy Me PA is to help the state’s citizens understand how health care works, while promoting healthy living and preventive care. Healthy Me PA posts everything from videos of fun, healthy recipes to infographics on how to protect yourself from the Zika virus. Because all of the content is easily accessible through Facebook, Twitter and monthly email newsletters, Healthy Me PA is an easy way for people to learn quick health tips.

Having grown up in a family filled with health care professionals, I was immediately intrigued when I learned about Bravo Group’s involvement with Healthy Me PA. I have sat through countless dinner conversations about the importance of preventive care and the struggles of encouraging people to make healthy living a priority. What I didn’t realize was that these conversations would prove useful to me in my work, even though I chose not to enter the health care field. Instead, I was reminded why I wanted to work at a public advocacy agency to begin with – the diversity in clients. Whether it’s working for a school, a big business or health care agency, public advocacy allows you to work with and learn about industries you never thought you’d be involved with.

Healthy Me PA is a great service for people in and out of the health care field. The mission is genuine and focused on making Pennsylvania a healthier place. I’ve been honored to work on this initiative over the last month. The project has helped me to develop my social media skills and allowed me to access some of the health care information I acquired from all those dinnertime conversations I sat through growing up.

For more about Healthy Me PA, check out this video: https://youtube.com/watch?v=eFSUOn5ZKdU

 

Kate Foley | Philadelphia Office

Leave a Reply

