“…there’s a million things I haven’t done”

In the opening number in Lin Manuel Miranda’s new and incredibly successful Broadway musical, Hamilton, the audience is introduced to the star of the show, a young Alexander Hamilton. We hear about his life and the challenges he faced as a poor orphan immigrant from the Caribbean. The entire song is phenomenal, but there is one line that sticks out to me among the rest, as Hamilton enters the stage he introduces himself, singing, “Alexander Hamilton. My name is Alexander Hamilton. And there’s a million things I haven’t done. But just you wait, just you wait”.

This line is what comes to mind, when I am asked to tell people about myself. My name is Kate Foley. I’m a rising senior at Villanova University. I’m a double major in Communication and Spanish. And there are a million things I haven’t done.

As I prepare to begin my final year of college, I spend a lot of time thinking about my future. As the youngest of four children I have watched my siblings begin and end chapters of their lives, from graduating college to landing first jobs. I am not yet sure where life will take me, but I’m hoping that my time here at Bravo Group will help me discover that path!

When I began college, I had no idea which major I should declare, not to mention what kind of job I would eventually want to pursue. I became a Spanish major by chance, after wandering into the Spanish department during orientation. I had been taking Spanish since Kindergarten, when my parents enrolled me in a Spanish immersion program at my elementary school. For the next 6 years, all of my classes were taught to me entirely in Spanish. From math, to science, to history, the only time we were allowed to speak in English was during our one-hour English class every day. I walked into the Spanish department that day to ask about the possibility of taking classes to practice my skills, and, after talking to the head of the department, I left as a Spanish major.

I started my first day of college as a newly declared Spanish major. Despite having slightly more direction than a few days before, I knew that I needed to find another area to pursue to help with finding a career path one day. I dabbled in different subjects until my sophomore year when I took an introductory Communication course. This course opened my eyes to all the possibilities that were available within communications, and I decided to stick with it. My father likes to joke that since I was always such a talkative child he should have known I would end up following my passion: communicating.

I am drawn to Public Relations because of the fast-paced and ever-changing industry. It seems to me that no two days are the same, and that I will have to constantly learn how to adapt to new challenges. The incorporation of both strategy and creativity are elements that I am looking for in a career.

I’m excited about my internship with Bravo Group this summer. This is my chance to dive into the world of PR and I’m ready. I’m looking forward to getting a chance to apply the skills I have developed in the classroom into some real-world experiences. Hopefully by the end of the summer, this experience will confirm that I want to continue to pursue a career in Public Relations,. And if it does not, well, there’s still a million things I haven’t done. Just you wait.

 

Kate Foley | Philadelphia Office

 

Image: Shutterstock 

Leave a Reply

