Farewell to Bravo!

As a college senior, I’m asked the same question on a daily basis: “So, what’s next?”

That’s a great question.

I’m two weeks away from graduation, and I still have no idea what I’ll be doing, which is a reality that’s both unsettling and exciting.

I’d love to stay in Harrisburg, an area that’s become home to me in the past few years—but I’ve also been exploring opportunities across the globe, from South Africa to the Middle East and my home country of England.

When I look back over the past four years, I can see the steps that shaped me, even if they seemed inconsequential at the time. My decision to move to the United States, attend Messiah College, and select journalism as my major all led me to accept this internship with Bravo Group. These steps I’ve taken along the way have brought me to where I am today. Now I’m writing my last blog post as an intern after what I can only describe as an incredible last four months with Bravo Group.

On the very first day of my internship, I arrived at the Harrisburg airport from Thailand at 2 a.m. (after 40-plus hours of travel), and then came to Bravo for my orientation later that afternoon.  Although I might have been a little jet-lagged and struggled to remember names, I do remember immediately feeling very welcomed and comfortable. The company culture at Bravo hits you the minute you step in the door: people here are as friendly and kind as they are professional and passionate. Even after two days of traveling, I could sense it right away, and it made me so excited about my internship.

On that first day, it felt like the semester stretched so far ahead of me—but right now, it’s hard to believe that the time has already come and gone. I want to thank everyone at Bravo for this opportunity to learn and grow, and especially give a big thank you to my internship supervisor, Alizah, who guided me in my writing and offered me feedback on countless pieces of my work.

The biggest takeaway I’ve learned from this experience is not to being afraid to try something new. Public relations might not have been my area of expertise, but I’ve learned that much like journalism, it’s essentially about being honest, ethical and a strong communicator. These are qualities I’ve seen at play throughout my internship, through Bravo’s excellent teamwork model and willingness to offer a helping hand. They are qualities I will carry with me to the next adventure after graduation, wherever that might be. And it’s this reassurance of the benefits of trying new things that gives me peace amidst all of the uncertainty–even when I still don’t have an answer to everyone’s question.

Rose Talbot, Harrisburg office intern

Leave a Reply

