About to “Be Something”

From the time a child starts school they are asked the question: what do you want to be when you grow up? And at that early age we seem to know so clearly. Even if my dream job changed weekly or daily, I was very passionate and decisive about my answer: I will be (fill in the blank with current passion).
The wickedly ironic twist is that the older we get, and the closer we come to having to “be something,” the less certain we are.
Almost four years ago, I started at Lebanon Valley College and declared my major as Digital Communications. Not because I was passionate about technology or design, but because I felt that I had to pick something. In the panic and swirl of “I have no idea what I want to do with my life,” I thought I would hate DigiCom the least. Well, I certainly don’t hate it, that’s for sure. Rather, the girl who had previously never touched computer software other than microsoft office and iTunes was elbows deep in Adobe programs and HTML, and was loving it. Passionate about it, actually.
Outside of my academics, I joined a sorority, served two years on its executive board, became the Art Editor of a literary magazine, had three internships, and learned more about my major, life; and myself than I ever thought possible.
As I enter my last semester, the question has changed from “what do you want to be when you grow up” to “what are you going to do after graduation?”
My honest answer – I have no clue.
If I had to pick one of the most important things I have learned in the past three years, it wouldn’t be the fundamental principles of design, or how to run a usability test. It would be that even when we have it all figured out, life rarely goes according to our well thought out plan.
And I’ve learned that I’m ok with not always knowing.
I’m confident, however, that my past experiences have prepared me for whatever the future holds. And I’m excited for the opportunity that lies before me as Bravo Group’s Creative Design Intern. I’m excited to put the skills I already posses to good use, while growing even further as a designer. Working at Bravo Group for the next 12 weeks will strengthen my skills exponentially, prep me for my future career path in way’s I can’t even imagine, and be an incredible finale to my senior year of college.
As the Rolling Stones song goes “you can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes you might find, you get what you need.”
Leave a Reply

