Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

Congratulations! Today is your day. You’re off to Great Places! You’re off and away!

Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

The end of my time here at Bravo doesn’t just signify the end of a semester. For me, it’s the end of college. On December 15th, sometime in the afternoon, my college experience will come to an end. Maybe I’m a bit nervous, but I also feel prepared, hopeful, and excited for this new chapter (or completely new book, really) of my life.

I’m not sure where I’ll work, what kind of work I’ll be doing, or the kind of people I’ll be with. However, this much uncertainty leaves a lot of room for endless opportunities.

For all my fellow December and upcoming graduates soon to be entering the uncertain terrain of the job market:

Believe in yourself just as others have believed in you. I’ll admit that this is pretty corny, but it’s true. I have family, friends, mentors, and coworkers that know what I’m capable of and know that I’ll be great at whatever career path I choose. Believing in myself will help me if the job search process takes longer than expected.

Know your strengths and know where you need to improve. My time at Bravo has taught me what I’m good at and what I enjoy. I have also learned where I need to improve. This is helpful because, as I enter this limbo between graduation and employment, I can take that downtime to perfect those skills and learn even more.

Seek help from those willing to help you. Whether you need help perfecting some skills or you need assistance finding connections for jobs, start with the people you know! I’ve already been in contact with family, friends, and acquaintances who may have an “in” within the public relations field. You never know what opportunities might come your way.

Relax. This will be the hardest piece of advice for me to follow. There’s a handful of jobs out there for each one of us to find. Something will come. In the meantime, relax, and enjoy not having to get up at a scheduled time every day.   

So, with that, I bid you all adieu! Farewell, my fellow Bravo interns! Welcome, future Bravo interns!

 

Step with care and great tact and remember that Life’s a Great Balancing Act… And will you succeed? Yes! You will, indeed! (98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed.)

Kid, you’ll move mountains!

Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

 

Ally Coonradt – Harrisburg Intern

Leave a Reply

