Until Next Time!

Public relations is a fast-paced industry, and this has certainly been a fast-paced semester. It’s hard to believe, but today is the last day of my internship with Bravo Group. I have had a great experience and been exposed to aspects of the industry I never before knew about. I am so thankful for my time here and I’d like to devote this post to share my takeaways from this semester.

  • Don’t be afraid to ask questions. Throughout this internship, I was given a lot of assignments I had never done before. When I was asked to conduct a social media audit, I didn’t know exactly what it entailed. But I asked for clarification, and understood it immediately afterwards. Asking questions doesn’t mean you are stupid. It means you take initiative to ensure you get the job done correctly. It will be worthwhile for both the client and for yourself to make sure you understand a given task before completing it.
  • Pay attention to constructive criticism. Over the semester, I completed a lot of writing assignments, such as client summaries, blog posts, and social media posts. Often I needed to do many drafts before a final version was produced. Nothing perfect is created instantly, and it’s important to absorb helpful feedback that people give you to make future improvements.
  • Be open to new opportunities and don’t be afraid to ask for new opportunities! As a PR/Communications intern, I wasn’t tremendously well-versed in all other services Bravo provides to clients. I had the chance to visit the Harrisburg office for the day and shadow the creative department to see how digital graphics are produced. Though such an area may not be my forte or what I plan to pursue in my future career, it was a great experience to see what goes on and how it benefits the client as a whole.
  • Take advantage of resources. Bravo offers a variety of services and represents many different sectors. It was so beneficial to see how PR tactics unfold into so many industries. Having such diverse experience is a great asset for future career opportunities.

 

So that’s about all, folks. My skills acquired at Bravo will guide me through my final semester of college and the daunting journey of finding a job. I’m excited to see what the future holds.

Thanks, Bravo Group, for everything!

Julia Maltz || Wayne Intern

Leave a Reply

