The Depth of PR

Hey there, everyone! My name is Julia and I am a current senior at St. Joseph’s University. I have a double-major in Communications Studies and Spanish and a double-minor in Advertising & Promotions and Linguistics. Allow me to share a little bit about myself. I was born and raised in West Philadelphia (cue the Fresh Prince of Bel Air theme song) and love living in a city. I am an avid writer. I love animals and have been a vegetarian since I was 14 years old. I enjoy reading, exercising (its a love-hate relationship), spending time with friends, and ridiculously dramatic crime shows. In the spring of 2015, I had the amazing opportunity to study abroad in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Though difficult at moments, it was one of the best experiences in my life. Now, I am back in Philadelphia and it’s dawning on me that, yes, I am a college senior, and yes, I will be graduating. I aspire to end up in New York City pursuing a career in public relations and I thought it best if I gain some experience beforehand.

This autumn, I will be joining Bravo Group at their Wayne office as a Public Relations & Communications Intern and I am so excited for this opportunity! When I learned that I had received the internship position in early August, I couldn’t wait to share the news with my family and friends. Often times, I received the same reaction:

So, you’re interning at a PR agency? How exciting! Now, what does that actually entail?

I have been saying for awhile now that PR is the route I want to pursue in my career. I have past academic and internship experience with PR, but never anything as multifaceted as Bravo Group. This experience is definitely invaluable. Yet, when people inquired about my future internship,  I didn’t know quite how to answer. PR as an industry encapsulates so much — branding, writing, pitching, client interaction, events. The list is infinite. That is precisely why I became so smitten with PR, because there is undeniably always something to be done. There is always a message to be shared. I love the fact that PR can be applied to any field. All businesses have a particular message and brand they want to share with their target audience and public relations is the avenue upon which they travel.

I have only been with Bravo Group for just over a week and I already feel like I have learned so much. Bravo Group is unique in its internship program approach because of the level of involvement between interns and the rest of the Bravo team. In just two days at the office, I feel as if I’ve received so much encouragement and guidance. The Bravo Group team is so welcoming and dynamic. I already know that this is not the internship where I will be fetching coffee for the boss or twiddling my thumbs at my desk. Bravo throws its interns right into the excitement and movement that defines the PR industry. On my first day, I attended an intern orientation at the Bravo Group headquarters in Harrisburg, PA. I had the chance to meet my fellow interns and a lot of the staff and learn about the details of the job and the history of the agency. This included a one-on-one conversation with Chris Bravacos, President and CEO of Bravo Group. I thought to myself, what an awesome opportunity! In past internships I’ve had, I never got to meet all team members, especially on the first day. It instantly became clear to me that everyone at Bravo is here to help you gain experience and tailor it to the aspects of PR in which are most interested. On my second day at Bravo, I headed straight to my first event. Sunoco, one of Bravo’s clients, was debuting a newly-renovated store in South Philly and I had the opportunity to attend the opening and watch everything unfold. I love the fact that Bravo wants its interns to participate in all the action and contribute. After all, PR is all about collaboration.

So, when people asked me these questions, I often answered anything and everything! Perhaps people should check in with me at the end of the semester. I look forward to being able to share what I have learned!

Julia Maltz || Wayne Office

Leave a Reply

