Time to Fly

There is a terrifying abyss that lies between college graduation and full-time employment and yours truly is currently living there. Of course, I’m not the only one who graduates without a direction and if you’ve been in the position, you know it’s not fun. Thanks to Bravo Group, my opinion on the unemployed graduate life moved from hopeless to seeing so much potential. It’s time to spread my wings and fly.  But first, let me tell you how to pronounce my last name and tell you more about myself.

I’m born and raised in Pittsburgh and have nothing but great things to say about it. Penn State University was an easy choice for me since I was looking for a big school (and in-state tuition). During my time there, I had internships with The State Theatre, a local non-profit performing arts center and The Daily Collegian, the school’s student-run newspaper. I also volunteered for THON, the world’s largest student-run philanthropy with a goal to deliver emotional and financial support to children battling pediatric cancer. I graduated from main campus in May 2015 with a degree in public relations and a minor in international studies. After the nomenclator said my name at commencement, I heard cheers from my family up in the stands. Perhaps, they were excited I graduated college or maybe because “Rzodkiewicz” was pronounced flawlessly, which is “zod-kev-itch.”Blog intro

During my free time, I have equal love for exercise and sitting on my couch watching movies. I also enjoy reading and have recently developed an interest in photography. Traveling is one of my big goals and aspirations for the future. New Zealand was called home for 4 months while I spent a semester abroad there. The absolutely stunning geography made the experience unforgettable and humbling. When thrown out of my comfort zone, I can be shy at first but thrive greatly whenever I conquer that feeling. There are future plans for travel tucked away in my brain so I can continue to conquer the world.

The first time I talked with Bravo Group was a few months before I graduated during a career fair. Their friendly employees and impressive list of clientele engaged my curiosity. Unfortunately, the summer interns were chosen already but shortly after I was asked about the fall internship position.

Taking an internship after graduation seemed like a step back until I realized the magnitude of learning I could do here. This could be the place where I further develop my skill set and identify what my strengths and weaknesses are. And not to mention, find my fit in the communications world, an ever-growing and ever-changing industry. I’m embracing every minute and asking as many questions as possible (sorry in advance to my advisor, Anne) to help not only myself but Bravo Group also. As President & CEO Chris Bravacos simply put it, I’m a sponge absorbing as much information as I can. I’m excited to see what I can accomplish next.

Grace Rzodkiewicz  || Pittsburgh Office

Leave a Reply

