All Good Things Must Come To An End

I still remember checking my phone after my religion class and seeing that I had a voicemail. I couldn’t help but hope that it was about the creative internship at Bravo Group. I wanted to listen but was also afraid it wouldn’t be the news I wanted. This internship sounded amazing and I would be crushed if I didn’t get it. Luckily for me, I built up the courage to listen to the voicemail and got the news I was hoping for.

It’s hard to believe that was in May and now I am approaching my final day here at Bravo. When I started I was nervous and a bit overwhelmed, now during my last week, I feel confident with the new skills I have learned and also the ones that I have refined. I want to thank everyone here at Bravo for helping me grow and learn more about this amazing industry. I want to especially thank my amazing coordinator Jill and the creative team for this great experience. This internship has really opened my eyes to all the different paths that the communications industry can take you.

Before my time here at Bravo, graphic design was something that I enjoyed doing but I wasn’t sure if it was something I was going to make a career out of. My summer here has not only helped to grow my design skills, but also my passion for design. I feel that I now look at everything in a different way. I pay more attention to the little details that can really make or break a piece. Driving to or from work I find myself looking at billboards and analyzing their design and enjoying every minute of it. Some of the many things I learned this summer include:

  1. Adobe Illustrator– At the beginning of the summer I had only ever opened this program once. After using Illustrator almost daily, I would say it has replaced InDesign as my favorite design application. While InDesign is great for reports and other multi-page layouts, where Illustrator is crucial is when it comes to creating design heavy artistic pieces.
  2. When to ask for help– During my time here I learned that it is important to give your all to anything you are working on, but if you have a problem, and if you can’t figure it out on your own it is ok to ask for help.
  3. Follow your passion– I noticed on my first day how passionate everyone here is. They truly love what they do and care about the clients they work with. It is important to find what you are passionate about and pursue that.

I would just like to say thank you again to everyone at Bravo for making this summer fun, memorable, and educational. I learned a lot but also had a lot of fun. I wish that my time at Bravo Group would never end, but as Geoffrey Chaucer said, “all good things must come to an end.”

Farewell Bravo,

Courtney Garloff, Bravo Group Creative Intern-Harrisburg Office

Leave a Reply

