Farewell, Bravo!

It’s hard to believe that my internship at Bravo is coming to a close.  To say that summer flew by would be an understatement.  As it concludes and I head into my senior year of college (hard to believe), it is important to reflect on what I came in with and what I will take away from my time here.

My introductory blog focused on how an internship is a learning experience.  I wanted to learn from the many bright minds at Bravo, about issues concerning the firm and its clients, and also some new things about myself.  During my three months here, I have done these things and sharpened my professional skills.

Here are just a few things that I learned and observed in my time at Bravo:

  • I am heading in the right direction.  Not that I didn’t know this before, but being around the people at Bravo reiterated that government and public affairs is my ultimate career path.  Hearing about past experiences from Bravo employees has me looking forward to the future and how I will craft my own set of skills that are unique to the industry.    
  • Commitment is a powerful indication of ultimate success.  Everyone at Bravo is committed.  Whether to a client, an approach or strategy, or to the firm as a whole, commitment is why Bravo is so successful.  At its core, Bravo is committed to getting behind issues and fostering the right approach and strategy for clients.  Without such commitment, the work and final product would lack real passion and effectiveness.  
  • Working with good people brings results.  When I started, it was clear that Bravo was full of good people.  Full of  people that you want to collaborate and engage with for the ultimate success of the firm.  Its not everyday that you find a group of people like that, and it plays a large role in Bravo’s well versed success. It is also an extremely important dynamic to any business operation and is certainly something to keep in mind for my future career.  
  • It is important to never stop learning.  Bravo employees are constantly learning. Whether they are gaining new knowledge on a certain issue, learning new strategies, or improving upon a message, Bravo staff continue to better themselves and the firm.  This is an uncommon value and an asset  that is essential for all of my future endeavors

Above all, I want to thank Bravo for giving me this opportunity.  The work I have done and the relationships I have built are a result of the people that work within the firm.  Specifically, I would like to thank Anne, my intern adviser, for her encouragement and guidance throughout the summer.  I plan to take this positive experience and continue to build upon it in the future.

The way I see it, you should go into an internship with the desire to gain a positive experience that will ultimately make you a more qualified and knowledgeable professional.  Thanks to Bravo, I was able to do just that.

I hope to stay in contact with the people at Bravo, but for now it is goodbye.  I look forward to my final year of school and what the future holds.  Although it was short and sweet, farewell, Bravo.

Tyler Gilbert ~ Pittsburgh Intern

 

Leave a Reply

