The Working World

One day it’ll hit you — you wake up and realize you’re not a kid anymore. Suddenly, you find yourself paying bills, grocery shopping, and dare I say, packing your own lunch and doing your own laundry. Where did the time go? Growing up is hard, but the one thing that seems the hardest to transition into is the working world.

We’ve heard it before, the horrors and hardships of this seemingly-fictitious land where everyone survives on coffee and is constantly stuck in traffic and lacking sleep. There’s an obvious negative connotation with the working world. But it doesn’t have to evoke such a scary image! Growing up and entering into the working world allows for an opportunity to change mankind for the better or accomplish high-stakes goals. It provides the freedom to apply one’s skills and education and hone in on natural abilities.

As a child, I imagined all the great things that came with being an adult: having a car, living in an apartment, having an amazing job, and not having to answer to my parents. I dreamed of being a strong, successful, and independent woman. However, as a college student, the working world became increasingly more daunting and I feared that this fictitious land was real. But my biggest fear was joining in with this reality.

Although my internship at Bravo Group is merely that, an internship, it’s my first introduction to the working world. I’ll admit it’s my first time working a traditional 9-5 job at 40 hours a week. Being here and working everyday, I’m not seeing the scary monster that is “the working world.” All I’ve seen are opportunities to grow and learn. More importantly, I’ve seen the possibility of becoming the woman I aspired to be as a child.

Over the past six weeks, I have contacted the media, edited social media posts, conducted research on various topics, attended client events, and developed social media tactics for clients. I’ve created stakeholders lists, compiled a list of client award opportunities, and written shout out posts for a convention. I’ve worked with an eclectic group of clients in the pharmaceutical, biotechnology, and tax compliance software industry. Public relations encapsulates all the skills I’ve learned thus far from my courses at Saint Joseph’s University. I’m using my writing, creative and critical thinking skills, along with my knack for aesthetic design, teamwork, and communication.

Although it’s hard being an adult, it’s a little easier when you factor in a great job or future career. And at Bravo Group, the working world seems like a nice place to live.

I’ll close with a quote about growing up from one of my favorite authors, Stephen Chbosky:

I walked over to the hill where we used to go and sled. There were a lot of little kids there. I watched them flying. Doing jumps and having races. And I thought that all those little kids are going to grow up someday. And all of those little kids are going to do the things that we do. But for now, sledding is enough.”

Emily Smedley || Wayne Intern

Leave a Reply

