You Say Goodbye, but I Say Hello

Way back in the beginning of my internship with Bravo, I wrote my first blog post for BravoVoice. This post was filled with preliminary information about my life to help those at Bravo get to know me. In this post, I discussed the importance of a Calvin Coolidge quote that I was taught in 6th grade: “Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence . . . Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.” Here I am, three months after writing that blog, preparing my final BravoVoice post, still living by that quote.
Two weeks ago, I was dreading this moment. An official college graduate preparing for life after school. I’ve been in school my whole life, it’s what I’ve come to love and excel at. I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I decided to graduate a semester early.
Sitting at graduation this past Sunday, the moment didn’t even feel real, not even when all the speakers were finished and it was the student’s turn to walk onto stage. I shook West Chester’s President’s hand, grabbed my empty diploma holder, and walked back to my chair. All I could think about was how I was glad I didn’t trip and how hungry I was for dinner afterward. Even now, almost a week later, I still don’t feel different and I’m positive I won’t until mid-January when my friends go back for the spring semester and I don’t.
Why yes, I did paint Wheres Waldo on my cap so that my family could easily find me in the crowd.
Why yes, I did paint Where’s Waldo on my cap so that my family could easily find me in the crowd.
Here I am on my last day with a company that, like school, has become part of my norm. I spent every day here between classes and my resident assistant duties. Bravo sure knew how to keep me busy, making this my busiest semester yet. Although this semester has been a tough one, I was determined to get through it, and that persistence has paid off. I have been offered a full-time account coordinator position at a PR firm in Harrisburg, and am in the second-stage of the interview process for an in-house position in Philadelphia. I remain persistent in attaining my goals because that is how I have succeeded thus far.
I credit Bravo for many of my skills, learning through practice during my time here. I worked on a great number of projects and was surrounded with some of the friendliest people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. From day one, they were all so welcoming, always encouraging me to come to them if I ever needed help, even if it wasn’t work related. I am thankful for the time and effort those at Bravo spent to help me grow as not only a professional, but as a person. I feel well equipped for the journey ahead of me, and appreciative of the part of my journey that is now behind me.
Although I am saying goodbye to Bravo, I say hello to big opportunities, possible with the help of this internship. Without this experience, I would be more scared about my future than I am. School helps you learn about your future, but experiences like this prepare you for it. I know that I’ve made the right career choice after my time with Bravo. I am positive that I am ready to jump into the public relations industry and shine.
6286756_origAs I depart Bravo, I just wanted to say another thank you to everyone that I have crossed paths with. The amount of knowledge and skill learned here will last a lifetime and will help set me apart from others as I move into the future. I will always be grateful for this short, but remarkable, experience.

I say goodbye to school, but hello to wonderful opportunities. I say goodbye to Bravo, but hello to the wide open door to my future.

One final time,
Emily Brensinger | Bravo Group | Wayne Intern

 

Photo Credit:
1: Amanda Jo Brensinger
2: http://followpics.me/hellogoodbye-by-yonil-design-for-a-line-of-beatles-lyrics-tees/

Leave a Reply

