And Just Like That, It’s Over: Farewell Bravo

shutterstock_89414491-600x450

As I sit here trying to write my farewell letter to Bravo, I can’t help but to reflect on the very first blog post I wrote for the intern blog. I wrote of my hopes and aspirations of what this internship would bring. And what actually happened was so much better. Three months ago, as the new fall intern at the Harrisburg office, I was excited and grateful for this opportunity. As my second post-grad internship I was very hopeful for the doors Bravo might open for me.

I was greeted by a company full of inspiring, well-educated, and professional people. Each and everyone one of them has been kind to me since day one, something an intern really appreciates. For the first few weeks I sat in awe as I watched these highly-skilled PR professionals do what they do best.  I kept my head down and said yes to just about everything they asked me to do. I didn’t want to pass up any opportunity, no matter how small. I attended after-work events, helped with administrative duties, and accepted every writing task that came my way.

After a month or so, I began contributing to actual work that would be seen by clients, and I was thrilled. This is what I had always wanted to do, and I was doing it. I was nervous that my work wouldn’t be up-to-par, but my co-workers have been nothing but encouraging and helpful since day one, offering advice around every corner. With their help, I began drafting press releases, advisories, and even social media recommendations.

In my first blog post I also spoke about my journey to becoming a PR professional. How my hard work would hopefully pay off one day and that I wouldn’t stop until I achieved full time status. Well that day has come and I still don’t think the reality has set in. After countless applications and interviews, I’ve accepted an account coordinator position with a firm in Virginia, and will be moving in just a few days.

It’s amazing how quickly things can change. Three months ago I was just beginning an internship, prepared for the long haul and plenty of hard work. Always wondering in the back of my mind, “will I be an intern forever?” That of course wasn’t true then, and it isn’t true anymore!

farewell

Two weeks ago I was still without any prospects and beginning to feel hopeless. And then the unimaginable occured, after about four rounds of interviews I was offered my dream job. I literally could not believe it, it took days for excitement to replace my anxiety. And the best part of it all was that Bravo was behind me the whole way. They allowed me time off to conduct interviews and phone calls, even offered advice when I was unsure about a potential opportunity. Needless to say, I would not be where I am without Bravo.

This firm took me from just an intern to a fully capable and confident professional, ready to take on the responsibilities of a full time position. In just three months I have learned more and accomplished more than I ever could have hoped for.

I am so thankful for the people I’ve met during my time at Bravo, the experiences I’ve had, and the countless important lessons I have learned. As my journey continues and I move on from my internship at Bravo, I look forward to the next step.

 

Andrea Fetchko  |  BRAVOGROUP  |  Harrisburg

Leave a Reply

