Whoa, We’re Half Way There

keep-calm-you-re-halfway-through

 

As I pass the halfway mark of my time here at Bravo, I am amazed at how much I have learned in only six weeks. I’ve participated in meetings and brainstorm sessions, listened in on phone conferences, and written an array of press materials.

 

 

I’ve also had the opportunity to learn the following several crucial lessons from my mentors at Bravo:

  • Have someone else proofread your work, a fresh pair of eyes is always helpful.
  • If you have too much on your plate, say so. Getting overwhelmed because you can’t say “no” is just bad news for everyone.
  • Be an observer. Watch how experienced professionals conduct themselves and take notes.
  • Ask questions and insist on being involved. An internship is meant to be a learning experience.

These are important lessons to keep in mind as I move into the second half of this internship and prepare for the “real world.” When I think about the past six weeks, I shake off questions like “Will anyone hire me?” “Am I really prepared?” or “Will I fail?”  I understand that an internship is a learning experience and even when I begin my first full time position I will continue to learn and grow. Since I have already experienced a more hands-on internship than most interns at my level have, I am confident going into interviews and planning for life after Bravo.

3c11440

So future Bravo interns, know that experience is everything. Get as much of it while you can, and learn from it–this will set you apart from other candidates applying for the same positions. Learn to take constructive criticism as it will only help you in the long run. Do not get offended when someone takes a red pen to you work– peer editing is your friend. Finally, take each day as it comes, and give each piece of work 100 percent.

 

Andrea Fetchko  |  BRAVOGROUP  |  Harrisburg

Leave a Reply

