My Life Lessons

283626_3706917386237_1227832448_n

“This is what I want and I will get there, no matter what happens.”

My name is Andrea Fetchko and I love quotes like this one. It’s no secret that in PR you start out at the bottom. I knew this when I declared my major in Communications with a focus in public relations. It made perfect sense. I have always had an outgoing personality, enjoyed writing and wanted to stay as far away from math as possible. I knew going into it that I would have to work very hard to get where I wanted to be. I have big dreams, and I know what it will take to achieve them. In order to stay motivated I look to other inspirational women in my field that have already achieved what I one day hope to.

My journey began at Penn State Altoona. That is where I met friends that I will keep forever and had experiences that I will never forget. That is also where I discovered my passion and skill for writing. After two years at the Altoona campus I was ready for a change.

396896_3706909186032_2065103238_n

I moved on from Altoona and hopped across the Pacific for a semester abroad in Sydney, Australia. I had never been out of the country so I decided, it’s now or never. I knew I would never get an opportunity like that again, so I jumped at it. It wasn’t anything I expected, it was so much more. I made new friends, went to a new school and lived in a foreign environment that I fell in love with. I discovered who I was.  I found my comfort zone and was pushed right out of it. A great life lesson I learned during my time abroad was that great things happen when you step outside of your comfort zone.

I then moved on to Penn State main campus where I attended fall football games and wrote more papers than I could count.  I graduated in May of this year with a BA in Communications paired with two minors in Psychology and International Studies. I couldn’t have been more excited for my future. I set my sights on Washington, D.C. and moved onto my brother’s couch for the summer while pursuing an internship there. At the conclusion of my internship I was unable to secure a more permanent position in D.C. so I moved back home and regrouped. Another life lesson I learned here was that adaptability is the key to success in any situation. I never planned on moving back home but that’s what was happening and I had to make the best of it.

I reached out to everyone I knew in hopes of getting my resume into the right hands. A friend of a friend knew a contact at Bravo Group in my hometown of Harrisburg, PA.  I immediately cleaned up my resume and sent it out hoping for the best. As you may have guessed, I was fortunate enough to be chosen as the communications intern for fall 2014 in the Harrisburg office.

So here I am, four years and countless lessons later with invaluable life experiences that I will carry with me forever. I know this is just the beginning and I cannot wait to see what else is to come.

“Nothing worth having ever comes easy.” That is all.

Andrea Fetchko  |  BRAVOGROUP  |  Harrisburg

Leave a Reply

