Meghan of Nazareth

 I was born in Bethlehem and raised in Nazareth. Sound familiar? Fear not, this post is about to veer in a different direction. My name is Meghan Gary and this story is my own.
nazareth
Bethlehem and Nazareth are towns in eastern Pennsylvania, located halfway between Philadelphia and New York City. And of course, they are named in reference to the biblical cities. By the time I reached my teenage years, the church bells of my hometown rang all too familiar. I could walk the roads in my sleep. I had the menus at the Mom and Pop pizzerias equally as memorized. I was itching for a new adventure.
When researching colleges I was well aware I wanted to break out of the small town where I was raised. I wanted to go to a large university, particularly one with an enthusiasm for sports. I decided upon the University of Pittsburgh. City living was exciting. I skipped past the feeling of being overwhelmed and fell right into the fast-paced lifestyle.
My freshman year, I began piling classes and extracurricular activities into my busy schedule. Drawing upon my experience as a competitive gymnast and a cheerleader, I auditioned for a spot on Pitt’s cheerleading team. I was in awe when I was awarded the position. There are no words that can accurately express the gratitude, amazement, and pride I feel when I cheer on my Panthers.
mrgBVpost
In addition to cheerleading I challenged myself to find other means of involvement. In 2012 I was elected president of my dorm. I worked with an incredible team of my peers to execute meetings, plan social events, and implement fundraising campaigns. I also keep busy by teaching gymnastics classes. I love working with children and sharing with them my passion for the sport.
I began my studies at the University of Pittsburgh majoring in Political Science. Since then I have tacked on an additional major in Communications; a minor in French; and a certificate in Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies. Currently, I have junior standing and plan on graduating in April 2016. I am ecstatic about the opportunity to intern with Bravo Group out of their Pittsburgh office and look forward to gaining valuable experience within the disciplines of political science and communications. I am most interested in learning about their unique campaign-style approach to advocacy and how they use strategic communication to mobilize targeted groups. Bravo Group works with a large array of notable and diverse clientele. This I hope will present me with invaluable experience involving a number of growing industries such as Energy, Education, Health, Transportation and Life Sciences.
Meghan Gary, Bravo Group Communications Intern-Pittsburgh Office
Leave a Reply

