“Wait a second, what do you mean I have to grow up?”

Growing up is a confusing concept.  When you’re young, all you want to do is grow up.  When you’re old, all you want to do is be young.  Being “old” comes with responsibilities — working hard, getting up early, paying bills, and yesthe 9-5 life.  Although I technically still have one more year of late nights and even later mornings at the University of Pittsburgh, it is donning on me that this is the start of the rest of my life.  I’m realizing though, that getting “old” just might not be so bad.  It’s like the saying goesif you’re doing what you enjoy, you won’t have to work a day in your life.

That’s always something that I’ve valued—enjoying what I do.   My name is Marsha Reisinger and I am Bravo Group’s summer intern at the Pittsburgh office.  I am from a pretty small town outside of Harrisburg, PA called Mechanicsburg.  There’s not much to it, other than some cow manure and a few decent restaurants, but it was a great place to grow up.  Among this though, there stands a gem.  This gem is Cumberland Valley High School.  For four years, I lived in a world where competition between both academics and sports was “dog-eat-dog”.  This place prepared me with the mentality that if you want to accomplish things, you have to make it happen.  You want good grades? Earn them.  You want to be a killer field hockey player?  Practice.  You want to be successful?  Do it.  But whatever you do, enjoy the ride along the way.

After spending my high school years living in the not-so-little (my graduating class was over 600) bubble I call Cumberland Valley, I moved to Pittsburgh to attend the University of Pittsburgh.  Never having been to Pittsburgh before I attended school here, I didn’t know what to expect.  After living here for three years, I have come to the conclusion that it is the perfect fit and also one of the best decisions I have ever made.  Throughout this journey, I decided to major in Communication with a Corporate and Community Relations Certificate and a Leadership Certificate.  I am now working on my Political Science minor, which is a recent new interest. 

Some real-world experiences laid a foundation for my appointment at Bravo Group.  My first brush with the professional world began at Geisinger Health System in Danville, PA, where I mostly assisted with the PR and Marketing team.  I sat in on and contributed ideas to important strategic meetings which I found to be a very valuable experience. Next, an internship with the Make-A-Wish Foundation gave me invaluable insight into Fundraising and Development aspects, as well as cause-related marketing.  My most recent internship was with The Children’s Society in London, England.  I just finished studying abroad there this past semester and I have to say it was the most exhilarating and amazing three months of my life.  More than anything, I learned how to communicate effectively with a different culture and adapt to any and all (and sometimes odd) situations. 

Imitating the famous Beatles album cover at Abbey Road in London, England

Although it was great to travel the world for three months, I am so excited for what is to come in the next three months with Bravo Group.  I can already tell that this internship is a once in a lifetime opportunity that I am not only going to learn from—but also enjoy.  Maybe this growing up thing won’t be so bad after all…

 

 

Leave a Reply

