Much Sadness…Such Goodbye…

Today marks my last day at Bravo. It seems like yesterday that I was publishing my first post in BravoVoice. Four months later, I am now writing my final post. Although time has flown by, I have learned more than I ever could have imagined in only four months. Here is a list of some of the lessons that I have learned during my time at Bravo.
ImageI learned to get into a work schedule. Going from a lazy college schedule of sleeping until noon to a full-time routine can be a tough transition. However, I found it pretty easy to do at Bravo because I loved coming into work. Commuting to an office of friendly people in a beautiful location definitely made the 9-5 grind enjoyable. Waking up early and working every day isn’t too bad when you love what you are doing.
I learned to roll with the punches. From surviving the winter snowpocalypse to being put on a jury, I definitely had some random Imageunforeseen events prevent me from getting into the office. Instead of being glum about missed opportunities, I took this as a chance to learn how important it is to stay connected to supervisors. Now I know how to communicate effectively when things don’t go as planned.

 

IImage learned how to prioritize. Bravo is a busy place and there were often times when I had a list of several different things to do at once, sometimes each having different due dates. This taught me the importance of being able to prioritize, especially in a busy agency setting. I learned that budgeting time and communicating with co-workers is imperative if you want to work in a bustling, thriving setting.  
ImageI learned that I love to keep busy.  Working at Bravo taught me that I thrived when I had a ton of work to do. I realized that the workday is much faster and much more fun when you are being productive. I learned to be proactive by reaching out to people to see if they needed help with projects. It also taught me how to maximize my free time to prepare for work ahead.
I learned that I love to keep up with the news. Before working at Bravo, I would rarely check the news to see wImagehat was going on.
However, interning at Bravo taught me the value of keeping up to date with what is going on locally and nationally. Nothing is cooler than watching a news story progress over time, especially when it is news about a company that you are working with. Keeping current also allows for great conversation during any social event!  
As I move onto my next step, I couldn’t be happier about my experience at Bravo.  At the beginning of the internship program, I didn’t really know what to expect. I was fresh out of college, freaked out about what I was going to do with my life, and apprehensive about joining the real world. However, Bravo gave me the opportunity to get valuable agency experience while being supported by a team of smart and successful people. I learned skills and insights that are crucial to being a team player in the public relations and communications industry. As I transition into the next phase of my career, I know that I will be ready to take the public relations world by storm.

Image

So what would be my advice to the next Wayne intern? Take advantage of every single minute of your internship. Take on every project that is given to you and don’t feel afraid to reach out to everyone at Bravo for help, advice, or support. If you follow this advice, I promise that you will have the amazing experience that I have had here.
Signing Off
-Ashleen
Spring Wayne Intern

 

Photo,Photo,Photo, Photo, Photo 

Leave a Reply

