Life as an intern has taught me…

Bravo Wayne Intern Ashleen and I on our first day.
Bravo Wayne Intern Ashleen and I on our first day.
Life is a series of transitions. We transition from childhood to adulthood; high school to college; single-life to married-life, and even job to job–the number of transitions we experience is endless.
Each transition period of our lives helps us learn something about ourselves that we bring with us to our next journey.
The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines transition as the “passage from one state, stage, subject or place to another : change.”
I like to think of internships as transition periods for our careers. They can prepare us for so much more than just landing a job as many internships do not lead to full-time employment.
When I look back at my time at Bravo Group, I see a different intern than I was in my previous internships–I changed.
I was very apprehensive before starting my very first internship. I was unsure of myself because I perceived I was inexperienced for the position. Little did I know, by the end of the internship I would gain confidence in my ability to produce quality, competent  work in a professional environment even with my lack of experience.
I unconsciously kept that confidence I gained during that experience and brought it with me to future internships. I have found when you’re confident in your abilities and skills, it makes adapting to new situations and environments easier.
When I came to Bravo, I knew I had strong writing skills, but I also knew I lacked general knowledge of the public relations field. I could’ve easily felt fear and doubt like I had before. Instead, I was confident in my writing skills and approached new responsibilities and tasks with open mind and with a little anxiety also.
Many interns forget internships are learning experiences: you learn through practical hands-on application. Your internship coordinator and other colleagues at the job are aware that you are inexperienced. They are there to help guide and teach you how to enhance your strengths and develop new talents.
One piece of advice I want to give to future interns is don’t doubt yourself. Know your strengths and use them.  It is okay not to know everything. Don’t worry. You will pick up many skill sets along the way from internships and other transition periods you go through.
Remember life is a series of changes. Without change, we can’t grow.
“The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.” – Alan Watts
Alizah Thornton
Bravo Group – Harrisburg 
Leave a Reply

