Putting On My Big Girl Pants

intro me

Hey there! My name is Ashleen McDonough and I am Bravo Group’s spring intern in the Wayne office.
This past December I left campus as a Villanova student for the last time. I walked out of my last final and it instantly hit me that I was not a student anymore; I was a real person now. I was overwhelmed with conflicting feelings of relief and anxiety. When I got home I called my mom distraught about how now I was no longer a carefree college student, but an adult. She said to me, “Well, now you’ve got to put on your big girl pants.”
At Villanova I was an English major with a minor in Communications and a concentration in Writing and Rhetoric (really rolls off the tongue, I know). I initially picked my major because I thought it would be practical for law school.  Throughout my freshman and sophomore years of college, I never really thought about working in anything but law. However, I decided to do several internships in communications on the side to gain some work experience and beef up my resume. After these internship opportunities, I discovered that not only did I have an interest in communications, but I also excelled in the work that I did. With that being said, I decided to put my law school ambitions on hold and venture down a new career path that I have unexpectedly grown to enjoy.
When I first read about Bravo Group’s Internship Program, I knew that it was a perfect fit for me. Throughout my collegiate career I always had a variety of interests, one of them being social justice causes. I always had a feeling deep down in my gut that no matter what I did, I wanted to do it in the most helpful and ethical way. Therefore, when I read more about Bravo Group I realized that I could work in a field that I enjoyed while helping to make a difference in my community.
I have lived in the Philly area my whole life and I love it here. However, that does not mean that I do not love adventure! The first semester of my junior year I had the opportunity to study abroad in Galway, Ireland. This gave me the opportunity to travel and live outside of the brotherly love bubble. Going abroad taught me that I have a love of exploration and a restless mind that thrives when trying and discovering new things. Going abroad has taught me to give any new opportunities a chance, no matter how foreign or intimidating they may seem.
My cute little Bean
In my free time, I have many interests. I have a love/hate relationship with exercise and cooking. My friends and family always tease me for being a major foodie and I love going out and trying different restaurants. My obsessions include my dog Bean, shows such as Mad Men and Homeland, and bargain hunting.
I cannot fully express how thrilled I am to be interning at Bravo Group.  I have only been here for a week, but already everyone here has been more than willing to give me the help and guidance I need to be successful as an intern. Interning at Bravo Group has definitely made “putting on my big girl pants” a little less scary.
Leave a Reply

