When life gives you lemons…

My name is Alizah Thornton. I am Bravo Group’s spring intern in the Harrisburg office, and I like lemonade.
They say when life gives you lemons make lemonade. I used to think that was a weird phrase since lemons cannot just turn into lemonade without the help of an individual physically doing something to aid the process.  That was it. The missing “step” in the life lesson: action.
Actions produce results. I found this out before beginning this internship.
I always loved reading and writing, and I have known since high school that I wanted to have a career with writing, but I did not want to major in English in college. I looked up careers with a high emphasis on writing, and I found journalism. That was it. I knew I wanted to be a journalist. I thought I was set.
Four years later, I earned my bachelor’s degree in Mass Media Communications with a concentration in journalism and a minor in professional writing. I thought it would be fairly easy to enter the journalism field after graduation since I had a lot of experience with writing in general and from my internships along the way.
I was naïve.
I had what I considered a lot of experience in my field for a college student. I wrote and served as an editor for the student newspaper, and I had two internships while in college: one in grant writing and one as a joint government relations/public relations intern. The latter turned out to be a turning point in my career. I realized I had other options for writing careers besides journalism.
Nonetheless, I thought it was too late in my college career to add another major, so I continued on down the journalism path. I graduated in May of 2013 and immediately started a reporting/journalism internship covering state government two days after graduation.
 I realized I have more skills to offer potential employers than just my writing, so I decided to try the public relations path.
I stumbled upon this internship with Bravo Group by chance. During the reporting internship, I was covering a press conference when Sean Connolly from Bravo Group came up to me, introduced himself, and handed me his business card.
I had no idea who he was or where he worked, but I decided to keep the card just in case it may be useful later.
A few months later, after a grueling and unsuccessful journalism job hunt, I emailed Mr. Connolly to set up a coffee meeting to inquire how to enter the public relations field without much experience.
I gave him a copy of my resume and he forwarded it to the human resources manager at the company.  Before our meeting was over, he explained to me that he is not an expert on how to land a job, but he did give me advice on how to approach contacts.
 When I set up the meeting, I was not looking for him to give me a job.  I appreciated his advice and input on the steps I should take if I wanted to pursue a career in public relations.
Fast forward to now and I am working as a public relations/communications intern for Bravo Group.
I realized now more than ever that actions will produce results. If there is something worth obtaining, all actions possible should be done to get to the goal.
The action I took by setting up a coffee meeting eventually landed me an internship here, and I am excited to see what this experience has in store for me.  It’s all about actions.
You can get lemonade by knowing what actions to take.
Want lemonade? Simple. Squeeze.
Leave a Reply

