Let’s Dudas

DSC_0245.NEF“Doo-dis”. That is how you pronounce my last name. Many times, people mispronounce it as “Doo-dass”, and I lack the motivation after years of failed mispronunciation to correct them. But, one thing I have learned about having the name Dudas, is it is actually can be turned into great catchphrase: “Let’s Dudas”. That is exactly how I feel about my new internship I am beginning to embark on at the Bravo Group.
I commute to Wayne everyday from Harleysville, PA. I attended North Penn High School, one of the largest high schools in the state of Pennsylvania. I had just over 1,000 students in my graduating class, and it was an experience I wouldn’t trade for the world. In high school, I made my name as a pole vaulter. I discovered I had the ability to do such a thing when I joined the track team (I am a terrible runner, ironically), and they asked for former gymnasts. Next thing I knew it was senior year, and I was jumping over 10 feet using a fiberglass pole.
pvAfter graduating high school, I attended Penn State University. Going to a huge college institution was challenging initially, but it taught me many valuable lessons. I entered college undecided in what I wanted to study and declared my major as public relations during my sophomore year. I graduated in the spring of 2013 with a B.A. in public relations and a minor in psychology.
Throughout college, I had several different internships. My first was at the Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau as a marketing and communications intern during the summer of 2011. Being at the PCVB for my first internship was an exceptional learning experience. I did some writing, helped with events, and spearheaded research projects. The following school year, I began interning with Penn State Athletic Communications as a Student Assistant. I worked with the various Sports Information Directors and assisted during games, matches, meets etc. I continued in the sports field during the summers of 2012 and 2013 as a Philadelphia Eagles Marketing Intern. I dealt with some of the most passionate Philadelphia sports fans and learned more about football (but don’t ask me too much, I’m no pro).
photoAt Penn State, I was involved with the philanthropy project, THON. It was a great way to meet other students, but more importantly, it raised millions of dollars for pediatric cancer. It opened my eyes to how young people can affect so many people’s lives. I was also a member of the Alpha Beta Chapter of Alpha Phi Omega, a co-ed service organization. Volunteering through service and philanthropy throughout college was so rewarding, and I hope to find ways to continue my involvement in the future.
After graduating I have moved back home with my very understanding family. I am one of two siblings in the Dudas family. My older brother is 23 and a baseball broadcaster for an affiliate of the Los Angeles Angels organization. I have a six-year old dog named Chase, after the beloved Chase Utley of the Phillies. In my spare time, I enjoy spending time with my friends, doing some basic yoga, reading, listening to country music, and (shamefully) catch up on some reality TV.
149884_1252635403782_3260486_nI learned about Bravo Group when I attended a career fair out at Penn State this past spring. I am very excited to be learning more about the in’s and out’s of working in a firm and seeing how it is all comes together. So, as I begin this journey I say “Let’s Dudas”.
Leave a Reply

