Here’s to One Last Time

elegance
Today, August 9th, marks my final day as an intern at Bravo. Needless to say, this summer flew by way too fast. In the beginning of my internship, I posted five things to get to know me better. To conclude my internship, I only found it appropriate to share with readers five things I’ve learned about myself over the course of my time here in Wayne. Here we go:
1. Sometimes I get antsy sitting at a desk. I’m sure this is common within the working world, but Bravo made sure that I had the chance to get up and move. One of my favorite parts about my internship was the fact that I was able to get out of the office and attend multiple events—they were fun, fascinating and gave me a change of scenery. Also, being located in Wayne is beyond ideal, simply because of the surroundings. I was introduced to the life changing Elegance Café—a place where Anna and I have run into each other before work getting coffee. It became a regular place for me, and there were countless days where I would take a walk across the street to get a chocolate croissant…Amazing.
2. I am a stickler for formatting. It may sound trivial, but one thing I have found is that formatting is key. When you’re working on client-based work, it is always important to make your work look uniform and professional. Not to mention it is way more fun creating and looking at documents with images and color (I think this is something Noelle and I have in common).
3. I love writing. I have always enjoyed writing for English classes or for fun, and my passion for writing definitely has come to life here at Bravo. I always looked forward to writing a weekly blog post or compiling research, and I was beyond excited to see how my writing contributed to client work.
4. I have way too many interests. Day by day, I realized how many aspects of the company I was truly interested in—public relations, government relations, advocacy, marketing, event planning and more. I was lucky enough to be introduced to at least one person from each of these areas through meetings, introductory interviews or Q&A sessions. It is so important to be able to explore every aspect of an industry while you can, and I was fortunate enough to get that opportunity.
5. I couldn’t imagine my summer anywhere else. This internship was above and beyond. I was productive and learned something each and every day, whether it be about a client, about the industry, or simply current events. I kept busy because I didn’t want my time here to go to waste, and it surely did not. Bravo is a place where all of my interests came together, and it’s crazy to think that I won’t be signing onto my computer on Monday morning.
office
It feels like it was yesterday when I first entered the Wayne office for a grand tour of the quaint and trendy work-space. Little did I know that I would be exposed to true client facing work as well as multiple aspects of the company. I am blown away by the amount I have learned about the industry, and beyond grateful for all of the opportunities I was given during my twelve weeks here at Bravo.
My two cents and advice for future interns would be this: Bravo is probably one of the best places to work in order to get your foot in the door, gain experience and learn more about the industry. Everyone here wants you to succeed, so it’s important to be pro-active, stay involved and challenge yourself with daunting projects. Get to know anyone and everyone you can (because they’re awesome) and don’t be afraid to ask for help when you need it. Lastly, be honest regarding what you want out of your internship. The people here will do whatever they can to help you accomplish your goals and make sure that your time here was above and beyond your expectations. Who could ask for anything better?
So here’s to: To-do lists, Meltwater clips, weekly meetings, media lists, research projects, competitive audits, Cision, blog posts, Hershey Kisses, Elegance Café, Harrisburg, Wayne, the Capitol, press conferences, Q&As, Noelle, Anna, and the rest of the amazing people here at Bravo…
…Here’s to one last time,
Charlotte Damico, Wayne Intern
Leave a Reply

