Post-Graduate Internship Pros and Cons

You’ve graduated! Congratulations! Now what?
internIf you haven’t already noticed, the economy sucks! I don’t know about you, but I gladly ignored it for the four years I was safely hiding behind my college education. The week after graduation brought some tough wake up calls. After months of editing and reediting my resume and cover letters I was still unable to find a full –time job.  Frustration quickly turned to bitterness and discourage.
Here I was with already a few internships under my belt working at a clothing store just to be able to fill my car up with gas. The last thing I wanted to do was take ANOTHER internship with no certainty of gaining full-time employment, but the AACA Museum offered me a home it turned out to be one of the best things for me. Little did I know it would lead me to yet another internship with Bravo Group, another great move for my career.
Is a post-graduate internship the best option for everyone? No, but it was for me because I was able to work in a field I wanted a career in and keep adding experience to my resume. Before I accept either of my post graduate internships I had to think if it would be good for my career. If you’re thinking of doing an internship after you graduate – weigh the pros and cons and make sure it’s the best decision for you.
Pros:
 – You will learn a lot more about the career you majored in by taking on another internship compared to working somewhere else selling clothes.
– It’s something you can put on your resume to prove you haven’t just been sitting around waiting for a job to come to you.
– They will help you network with other professionals and assist you in finding a job.
– They may even hire you at the end of the internship.
– It will keep your writing and other skills sharp!
– You will always have more things to learn, and better you learn them at an internship first, then screw it up at your first real job.
Cons:
– Most internships are unpaid and you’ll need to find a way to make it work.
– You may STILL need to pay your dues by fetching coffee and stapling packets together.
– There will be no guarantee that they will hire you, and after your time with them has ended, you will be right back to square one in looking for a job.
–  The time you spend at your internship will cut back on the time you can spend actually applying for full-time jobs.
It isn’t a crime to turn down an internship offer, or a job for that matter if you feel that your career will benefit from another option. My internships at the AACA Museum and Bravo Group were very different from the others I completed during college. And the experiences I gained at these two companies will follow me to my next job and make me better for it!
Mischief managed,
Jill
Leave a Reply

