If There Is One Thing You Should Know About Me……

It is that I love pretty much all sports. Basketball, as most of the Wayne employees have figured out in the short time that I have been here, is a little bit of an obsession of mine. I am the son of one of the most successful and highly decorated girls basketball coaches in the Philadelphia area (almost 600 career wins and got his first high school coaching job when he was 21 right out of college) and of an NCAA Division 1 women’s basketball official (she works 80 plus games a year all around the country in conferences like the Big East and the ACC and regularly has nationally ranked teams like UConn or Notre Dame or Maryland). So, to put it simply, I grew up in a basketball gym.
tj1When I am not in the office down in Wayne, you can catch me on the sidelines as an assistant coach for my dad’s team up in Bucks County at Central Bucks East High School. Right now I am his head assistant, in charge of developing the guards and focusing on defensive strategy. The days can be long for me, traveling from Wayne to Buckingham every day and not getting home till around 9 o’clock every night, but for me I cannot imagine it any other way. Before college, all throughout high school, I was the statistician for the team, going to every game and giving input into game strategy that I saw from the stats I kept. And before that, when I was little, you wouldn’t miss me at a game. I would beg my parents to pick me up early from school just so I could make the after school practices down in the city when my dad used to coach at Bishop McDevitt High School in Wyncote. Some of my earliest memories are from playing in the upstairs room of Hagan Arena at St. Joe’s with all of the cheerleaders as they warmed up before a game, or meeting Pat Summit after a Philadelphia Catholic League Championship game my dad was coaching in. On top of that, I am also a PIAA basketball official and you will find me on the weekends reffing local township or high school games. For me it’s crazy, chaotic, and normal all rolled into one.
A little known goal of mine in life is to, hopefully one day, become a head coach at a local high school and follow in my dad’s very large footsteps. The game has become such a big part of my life that if I did not coach somewhere, I would feel like I was missing my arm or leg. It has become such a constant, stable presence that I couldn’t imagine not having it day in and day out.
tj2Aside from basketball, I am also a huge tennis fan. I was a four year varsity tennis player at CB South High School. I moved between singles and doubles throughout my four years, depending on the needs of the team, and in my senior year I was named captain. We never won any league championships, but since CB South opened the year before I got there and the tennis program was brand new, I will always be proud to say that we improved our record every year, with my senior year finally breaking through and having the school’s first winning record! At Pitt, I was only able to play club tennis for my freshman year since the schedule was very demanding and conflicted with my classes (Pitt doesn’t have a men’s Division I tennis program, so you can imagine the type of players who were forced to play club!).


Outside of the world of sports, I love spending time with my family and friends. I am the oldest of two; I have a little brother who is currently a sophomore at CB South who hopes to one day go to Penn State and become a teacher (I am almost positive he only wants to go to Penn State just so he can have one m
ore thing to compete against me with). He is probably the polar opposite of me; I am much more cerebral while he is outgoing. He does plays and musicals and is outgoing to anyone he meets, I love reading history books and talking about politics and am more quick witted and quiet. He is a tall, football playing offensive lineman, I am the short, skinny tennis player. I have an eight year old dog named Abby, who is great to have around to keep you company during basketball season when no one in my family is ever on the same schedule. I am also one of somewhere around 45 grandchildren if you combine both sides of my family. So it is pretty easy to run into or hang out with one of them tj3since they are all from the Philadelphia area. Since I am not the common college student and graduated a semester early, and have all of my friends still at school, you will probably catch me driving to Manayunk or Scranton or Pittsburgh or Richmond or Wilmington on the weekends throughout this year to visit my friends who are still counting down the days till graduation. Other than that, I think that the section below can sum up everything else you would need to know about me!
The Basics:
Favorite Color: Blue
Favorite Movie: Dumb and Dumber
Favorite Bands: Coldplay, Dave Matthews Band, the Black Keys, Florence and the Machine, Mumford and Sons, U2
Favorite College Basketball Team: Duke Blue Devils (and no I am not a bandwagon jumper for all you Duke haters out there, I grew up with them!)
Favorite NFL Football Team: Whichever team Peyton Manning is on. I am a Peyton Manning Fan!tj4
Favorite Book: 1776 by David McCullough
Perfect First Date: A long walk on the beach followed by horseback riding on the beach followed by a long in-depth conversation about history and politics on the beach followed by fireworks on the beach (all in that order)
Go To Song You Sing Driving To Work: I’m A Barbie Girl by Aqua or Ludwig van Beethoven’s 9th Symphony
Favorite Quote: “You can’t be common, the common man goes nowhere; you have to be uncommon.” – Herb Brooks (1980 USA Olympic Hockey Team; “Miracle on Ice” Coach)
Favorite President: John F. Kennedy (I am a JFK nerd, couldn’t tell you how many books I have about him/the Kennedy family)
Favorite Vacation Destination: Lake Minnetonka, Minnesota (only in the summer though!)
Weird Fact About Me: I eat all of one food before I move on to eating the next

-TJ Lonergan

Leave a Reply

