Happy Thanksgiving!

In 1621, the Plymouth Colonists and the Wampanoag Indians shared a three-day fall harvest feast that is now acknowledged as the first Thanksgiving dinner.
Unlike the modern tradition, the dinner attendees didn’t feast on turkey, but rather large helpings of seafood and venison instead. Five women prepared the entire feast, and when everyone was finished eating, the pilgrims and Native Americans packed their things and headed to the mall to wait in line for Black Friday sales. (Only one of those statements wasn’t true.)
For several decades, colonies and states celebrated individual days of Thanksgiving. President Lincoln declared Thanksgiving an official holiday in 1863 in the midst of the Civil War.
In honor of the holiday, Bravo employees reflected on what they are giving thanks to at the dinner table this year.

Megan Dapp: I am thankful for two beautiful children that warm my heart, a wonderful husband and a job that I enjoy.

Dani Gross: I’m thankful that my husband and I will be having a healthy baby boy at the end of January, that I’ll be seeing lots of family over the holiday and that I don’t have to cook Thanksgiving dinner.

 Will Dodds: I am thankful for my friends, family, life, health, food, football on Thanksgiving and the opportunity to intern at Bravo!
 Jen Riley: I am thankful that Colleen keeps the candy jars filled!
 Colleen Inglesby: I am thankful that I am not being hit with spitballs by fourth graders anymore.
 Samantha Arcieri: I’m thankful for my family, friends, education, the opportunity to intern at Bravo and everyone working to restore and rebuild the New Jersey shore.
 Anna Idler: I’m thankful for my family, my friends, the beach and getting to move into Philadelphia in a few weeks!
Noelle Lorine: I’m thankful that I can officially start listening to Christmas music without being judged!

Chris Getman: I’m thankful for my daughter and all the laughs she provides every day and our soon to be expanded family.

Love watching the Thanksgiving parade on TV? Here are some interesting facts about the parade balloons.
http://www.philly.com/philly/entertainment/holiday/Balloon_tidbits_before_Thanksgiving_parade_tune-in_.html
Think your Thanksgiving turkey is traditional? Think again. Here are some interesting facts about the holiday.
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/11/21/thanksgiving-trivia-facts_n_1106005.html#s489101&title=Was_There_Turkey
Can’t get enough of the holiday? History.com has everything you need to know about Thanksgiving.
http://www.history.com/topics/thanksgiving
-Samantha Arcieri
Leave a Reply

